Introducing 2 contributors for the Web Platform Tests project

As I previously announced who will be working on Pulse Guardian, let me introduce who will be working on Web Platform Tests – Results Explorer:

* Kalpesh Krishna (:martianwars on irc) –

What interests you in this specific project?

I have been contributing to Mozilla for a couple of months now and was keen on taking up a project on a slightly larger scale. This particular project was recommended to me by Manish Goregaokar. I had worked out a few issues in Servo prior to this and all involved Web Platform Tests in some form. That was the initial motivation. I find this project really interesting as it gives me a chance to help build an interface that will simplify browser comparison so much! This project seems to have more of planning rather than execution, and that’s another reason that I’m so excited! Besides, I think this would be a good chance to try out some statistics / data visualization ideas I have, though they might be a bit irrelevant to the goal.

What do you plan to get out of this after 8 weeks?

I plan to learn as much as I can, make some great friends, and most importantly make a real sizeable contribution to open source 🙂

Are there any interesting facts/hobbies that you would like to share so others can enjoy reading about you?

I love to star gaze. Constellations and Messier objects fascinate me. Given a chance, I would love to let my imagination run wild and draw my own set of constellations! I have an unusual ambition in life. Though a student of Electrical Engineering, I have always wanted to own a chocolate factory (too much Roald Dahl as a child) and have done some research regarding the same. Fingers crossed! I also love to collect Rubiks Cube style puzzles. I make it a point to increase my collection by 3-4 puzzles every semester and learn how to solve them. I’m not fast at any of them, but love solving them!

* Daniel Deutsch

What interests you in this specific project?

I am really interested in getting involved in Web Standards. Also, I am excited to be involved in a project that is bigger than itself–something that spans the Internet and makes it better for everyone (web authors and users).

What do you plan to get out of this after 8 weeks?

As primarily a Rails developer, I am hoping to expand my skill-set. Specifically, I am looking forward to writing some Python and learning more about JavaScript. Also, I am excited to dig deeper into automated testing. Lastly, I think Mozilla does a lot of great work and am excited to help in the effort to drive the web forward with open source contribution.

Are there any interesting facts/hobbies that you would like to share so others can enjoy reading about you?

I live in Brooklyn, NY and have terrible taste in music. I like writing long emails, running, and Vim.

 

We look forward to working with these great 2 hackers over the next 8 weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community

Leave a Reply

