Say hi to Gabriel Machado- a newer contributor on the Perfherder project

Earlier this summer, I got an email from Gabriel asking how he could get involved in Automation and Tools projects at Mozilla.  This was really cool and I was excited to see Gabriel join the Mozilla Community.  Gabriel is knows as :goma on IRC and based on his interests and projects with mentors  available, hacking on TreeHerder was a good fit.  Gabriel also worked on some test cases for the Firefox-UI-Tests.  You can see the list of bugs he has been involved with and check him out on Github.

While it is great to see a contributor become more comfortable in their programming skills, it is even better to get to know the people you are working with.  As I have done before, I would like to take a moment to introduce Gabriel and let him do the talking:

Tell us about where you live –

I lived in Durham-UK since last year, where I was doing an exchange program. About Durham I can say that is a lovely place, it has a nice weather, kind people, beautiful castles and a stunning “medieval ambient”.  Besides it is a student city, with several parties and cultural activities.

I moved back to Brazil 3 days ago, and next week I’ll move to the city of Ouro Preto to finish my undergrad course. Ouro Preto is another beautiful historical city, very similar to Durham in some sense. It is a small town with a good university and stunning landmarks. It’s a really great place, designated a world heritage site by UNESCO.

Tell us about your school –

In 2 weeks I’ll begin my third year in Computer Science at UFOP(Federal University of Ouro Preto). It is a really good place to study computer science, with several different research groups. In my second year I earned a scholarship from the Brazilian Government to study in the UK. So, I studied my second year at Durham University. Durham is a really great university, very traditional and it has a great infra-structure. Besides, they filmed several Harry Potter scenes there 😛

Tell us about getting involved with Mozilla –

In 2014 I was looking for some open source project to contribute with when I found the Mozilla Contributing Guide. It is a really nice guide and helped me a lot. I worked on some minors bugs during the year. In July of 2015, as part of my scholarship to study in the UK, I was supposed to do a small final project and I decided to work with some open source project, instead of an academic research. I contacted jmaher by email and asked him about it. He answered me really kindly and guided me to contribute with the Treeherder. Since then, I’ve been working with the A-Team folks, working with Treeherder and Firefox-Ui-Tests.

I think Mozilla does a really nice job helping new contributors, even the new ones without experience like me. I used to think that I should be a great hacker, with tons of programming knowledge to contribute with an open source project. Now, I think that contributing with an open source project is a nice way to become a great hacker with tons of programming knowledge

Tell us what you enjoy doing –

I really enjoy computers. Usually I spent my spare time testing new operating systems, window managers or improving my Vim. Apart from that, I love music. Specially instrumental.  I play guitar, bass, harmonica and drums and I really love composing songs. You can listen some of my instrumental musics here: https://soundcloud.com/goma_audio

Besides, I love travelling and meeting people from different cultures. I really like talking about small particularities of different languages.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I hope be a software engineer, working with great and interesting problems and contributing for a better (and free) Internet.

If somebody asked you for advice about life, what would you say?

Peace and happiness comes from within, do not seek it without.

Please say hi to :goma on irc in #treeherder or #ateam.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

