Mozilla A-Team – How to compare talos numbers from try server to trunk

Have you ever been working on a change that you think will affect performance numbers and you were not sure how to verify the impact of your change?

I have had questions on how to do this and recently I needed to do it myself (as I introduced a change to Talos which caused a big old performance regression in everything).

The main use case I needed to do was run a change on Try server and verify that it did in fact fix my performance regression.  Normally I would go to tbpl, and click on each of my tests to see the reported number(s).  For each of those test:number sets, I would look on graph server (hint: you can get to graph server for a given test by clicking on the reported number) and verify that my numbers were inside the expected range for that test/platform/branch based on the history.  If only I was part of a software developers union I could complain that that boring time intensive work was not in my contract.

To simplify my life, I decided to automate this with a python script.  I wrote compare.py which will spit out a text based summary of what I described above.  Here is a sample output:

python compare.py --revision c094aeea5f73 --branch Try --masterbranch Firefox --test tp5n --platform Linux
Linux:
    tp5n: 292.157 -> 400.444; 308.596

A quick explanation:

  • 292.157 is the lowest number reported in the last 7 days for tp5n,linux
  • 400.444 is the highest number reported in the last 7 days for tp5n,linux
  • 308.596 is the value reported from my test on try server for tp5n,linux

While this doesn’t do the previous 30 changesets and the next 5, it gives a pretty good indicator about what to expect.  I can run this on a different time range (to check the 7 days prior to my introduced regression) by adding –skipdays to the command line:

python compare.py --revision c094aeea5f73 --branch Try --masterbranch Firefox --test tp5n --platform Linux --skipdays 6
 Linux:
 **tp5n: 311.975 -> 398.571; 308.596

Here you will see a “**tp5n”, and that indicates that the Try server number is not in the range and should be looked at the old fashioned way.

Hope this helps in debugging.

1 Comment

Filed under testdev

One response to “Mozilla A-Team – How to compare talos numbers from try server to trunk

  1. Awesome, thanks for sharing this!! It’s a great help.

Leave a Reply

