Fennec proved more useful than Opera

Yesterday while driving to Mountain View from Oakland we were trying to find some dinner in the general Mountain View area. I pulled out my omnia II, launched Opera, and found a Thai restaurant in Palo Alto! Unfortunately with Opera I was unable to get a google map to load…FAIL.

I had a build of Fennec that I was using for mochitest development on the filesystem, so I launched it and tried to do the same search. Fully expecting a crash or two, I was surprised when I got search results in the same perceived amount of time as I did on Opera. The best thing was I could get a google map and zoom in/out to get the details I needed to figure out how to get to the restaurant.

End result: Fennec saved the day and proved itself as a useful browser. Time to clean it up and release Alpha4!

7 Comments

Filed under general, reviews

7 responses to “Fennec proved more useful than Opera

  1. Pete

    “Fennec saved the day” is nonsense. Maybe next time you should simply ask someone at the street for a recommendation.

  2. elvis314

    I do admit I am a bit biased since I work on Fennec every day, yet my first choice of a browser on the Omnia II was Opera. If anybody has actually tried to run Fennec on a phone earlier in the year, you would appreciate the excitement.

    But as Pete said, just asking somebody for a recommendation or directions is the easier way to do this.

  3. crowder

    Bah, asking for directions would be neither the masculine nor the testerly thing to do. You chose wisely.

    — crowder

  4. Nobody asks for directions in the US anymore.

  5. Baka_toroi

    I don’t trust people, you did the right thing.

  6. Aaron

    Nothing to eat in Oakland 😉 ?

Leave a Reply

