More details on how to run mochitests remotely

After having good success two weeks ago running mochitests on my windows mobile device using a remote web server, I have cleaned up a lot of my code and made this a better process. When I last posted, I had this remaining list of action items and I have appended my status:
* Sort out python script to generate mochitesttestingprofile and get it on the device- bug 512319
* Fix profile and tests to remove localhost/127.0.0.1 dependencies- bug 512319
* Fix tests to remove calls to local files (an example I found)- about 100 test files fail
* Test on a release build of Fennec with desktop tests.tar- more details below
* Verify tools like certutil.exe, ssltunnel.exe, etc.. do not cause any problems- no progress
* Write tools in the python script to look for a test that doesn’t exit and clean up zombie processes- fixed with maemkit

I have yet to update maemkit officially, but that is in the works. I mentioned there is a quirk with running on release build and tests.tar. The issue with this is to make sure you have the right build and binaries for the right platform. I know this sounds easy, but in order for me to run tests on windows mobile, I need to build a binary of windows mobile and a test package for desktop.

Let me outline a set of steps that are necessary to take to help elaborate on this:
1) Build WinMo build and install on device (I usually take the .zip file, unzip, and copy to \tests\ so that I can run \tests\fennec\fennec)
2) Build Windows Desktop build (with my two patches 508664 512319) and create a ‘make package-tests’ and untar this in something like c:\tests (so you have c:\tests\bin, c:\tests\mochitest\, etc…).
3) Using the build from step #2, create a ‘make package’ and unzip the package to c:\tests so you have c:\tests\firefox\firefox.exe.
4) Copy c:\tests\bin\* c:\tests\firefox so we have the xpcshell.exe in the correct directory
5) Run: python runtests.py --appname=firefox.exe --remote-webserver=192.168.55.100:8888 --setup-only. Note the ip address is the activesync ip
6) Create profile directory on device: c:\tools\pmkdir.exe \\tests\\mochitesttestingprofile\\
7) Copy mochitesttestingprofile to device: c:\tools\pput.exe -r c:\tests\mochitest\mochitesttestingprofile\* \tests\mochitesttestingprofile\
7) Edit httpd.js and server-locations.js in c:\tests\mochitest to change localhost and 127.0.0.1 to be 192.168.55.100
8) Launch web server (from the c:\tests directory):
firefox\xpcshell.exe -g firefox -v 170 -f mochitest\httpd.js -f mochitest\server.js
9) launch fennec on remote device:

c:\tools\prun.exe -w \tests\fennec\fennec.exe --environ:NO_EM_RESTART=1 -no-remote -profile \tests\mochitesttestingprofile\ http://192.168.55.100:8888/tests/toolkit/components/passwordmgr/test/test_xhr.html?logFile=%5ctests%5cmochi.log

That is the basic run. When I have maemkit updated, step 9 would become:
python maemkit-chunked.py --testtype=mochitest

I can automate a lot of these steps if I assume we are running over active sync and make maemkit a bit smarter about the setup.

1 Comment

Filed under testdev

One response to “More details on how to run mochitests remotely

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for More details on how to run mochitests remotely « 3.1415926535897932384626433… [elvis314.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

