Professional Development, Improv and your audience

I had the opportunity to attend some really exciting professional development sessions at the All Hands.  Personally I found these very interesting, but I heard a lot of grumbling about how these are not adding a lot of value or of interest.

One reason I found these interesting is that in a previous life I had attended a few years of Improv acting classes and did a short stint of real onstage Improv acting.  In looping back to these professional development sessions, they reminded me of the core concepts we learned in Improv 101.  So if you felt that you missed out, sign up for an Improv class.  Maybe if there are professional development sessions at a future event they could just have an Improv acting class.

Related to the professional development courses, I found that most of these were sparsely attended.  Of those that did attend the courses received great reviews/ratings.  To be fair, the technical tracks that I attended had about the same attendance records of the professional development tracks.  Maybe we are not creating sessions that are of interest to our audience?  I know for the technical tracks we just propose something and it magically becomes a session.  I don’t recall getting any input in what sessions would be available to me.  Maybe in the future we can do a better job of getting input from the community (a.k.a audience)!

1 Comment

Filed under general, reviews

One response to “Professional Development, Improv and your audience

  1. I don’t really understand the grumbling. Whether or not you thought the sessions were interesting or valuable, nobody was required to attend and many people arranged the impromptu meetings that they needed to get done during the morning hours. I thought it worked out pretty well.

    I definitely think we should consider having more sessions specifically for “new Mozillians”, and maybe ask some new Mozillians what they think would be most valuable, but there were quite a few sessions on those topics (history of Mozilla, communication in the Mozilla community, etc). I thought the balance was pretty good overall.

Leave a Reply

